Procrastination

16 Mar

I have been procrastinating on posting.  I have tons to post about, but I’m just not focused enough to actually sit down, write, upload photos and hit publish.  Either way, I’m just going to start somewhere.  How about that CRAAZY resolution list I made?  Let’s start there.

Books to read (or re-read!) this year – I’ve crossed off The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, and have begun Prince Caspian.  Still slowly working through King Arthur.

As for my 25 before 27 list?

I can cross off the following:

6 – Organize my linens and laundry room

(Pardon the pictures, most were taken from my phone!)

I hung the curtains, painted the laundry side’s shelves, and organized all the shelves.  I plan on hanging a curtain (possibly drop cloth material?!) to cover the linens and laundry.  I’m also thinking about hanging some bamboo roll-up shades to cover the shelves above the washer and dryer kinda like this.

I use that dresser to store all my boys play clothes in.  It makes laundry put-away super simple!  When they get dressed in the morning, their jammies go straight into the laundry bin and they dress themselves right there in the laundry room.  At night we have them take their clothes off in the laundry room, and then they run upstairs to put on their jammies.  My husband came up with this system idea and it’s been working really well for us!  It keeps the laundry a lot more manageable than having multiple baskets around the house.  We only have one so I always have a pretty clear picture of how I’m keeping up with it.

7 – Actually decorate my office nook shelves and paint them

This was a project I took on when my husband went out-of-town for a week.  I thought it would take a day or two.  I was soooo wrong.  It’s took me a full week, and I was working hard!  I guess that means I should show you a before shot.  It’s horrid.  Shield your eyes.

Before –

AHH!!  That was really, really bad!  Good thing there’s an after shot!

After-

And this little guy I found at a thrift shop is just too cute!

Here’s the other side of the nook, again – get your sunglasses on!  Before shot – up ahead!!

Before –

And after –

(IGNORE FLOORS!  IGNORE FLOORS! IGNORE FLOORS!)

10 – Get glasses

I pick them up on Friday!

17 – Get or make some dang throw pillows for the couch

Paired a new green one with some vintage Crate and Barrel blue ones:

Then on my pair of white chairs I got some green ones with cream flowers:

22 – Organize my computer photos and files

My hubby tackled this one!  Thanks, Babe!!

23 – Go on more dressy dates with the hubs of my youth

I actually wore a dress on our Valentine’s day date!  Big step for this lady!

And I should mention we are ridiculously close to #14 – Install wood floors.

They are stacked behind my couch just waiting.  We have a plan of attack to prep our very lumpy, bumpy, and sloped floors, and installing them should be a breeze after that step!  So close, I can smell it.

See?  They’re here!!!

And I don’t want to talk about goal #1– Obviously, lose 20 lbs.

Let’s just say that my body apparently likes to GAIN weight when it’s starved of food.  I’m persevering though.  It just might take longer than I hoped, I have until September 21st though!!

So there’s a quick update.  Besides goal #1, I’m pretty happy about my progress thus far.

Hope you all are enjoying your spring!  Cheers!

 

5 Responses to “Procrastination”

  1. Suze March 16, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

    Yayayaya! Loving the progress. And the bamboo shades for your laundry room- excellent idea! You already know I love the revamp on your shelves, but I will say it again, looks great.

  2. jennifer kindle March 16, 2011 at 3:12 pm #

    looks AWESOME!!!! i’m a little envious but inspired all at the same time! I’ve gotta have that white owl on your wall…..where did you score that????

  3. Jennifer Manterola March 18, 2011 at 11:01 am #

    As always…came here to get a little pick-me-up and I am fulfilled. I just love reading your posts. You write exactly like you talk and it makes me feel like I can stay in touch…SO proud of you for all that you have tackled off of that list and it isn’t even April yet! Yo go girl.
    Miss you.

    • Bethany March 18, 2011 at 7:50 pm #

      Thanks Jenn!! Miss you too!!

  4. Alexis March 20, 2011 at 5:56 pm #

    Yay for progress! I like this, I really do.

Leave a Reply

