New Years’ Resolutions

11 Jan

At the beginning of each new year I usually come up with a resolution or two that I don’t believe I have ever kept.  I was tempted to not even bother this year, but then I realized I have  A LOT of room for improvement and so I made a ginormous list of resolutions instead.  Horrible idea? or the best idea… only time will tell!

I thought I would share a few and maybe it’ll help me feel the pressure to actually accomplish it!

I broke down my massive list by resolutions, books to read, and things to do before I turn 27 (in September).

Resolutions – Be a prayer warrior, remember my family’s birthdays and actually call them on the day (harder than it sounds people – this was mine last year!), and Christmas shop in the summer.

Books to read (or re-read!) this yearThe Rare Jewel of Christian Contentment, Future Men, Chronicles of Narnia (all of them!), Notes from the Tilt-A-Whirl (really great book I plan to read a million times over!), King Arthur (with my oldest son), and any Jane Austen novel I feel like.

And now to the more daunting to-do list before I turn 27.  I was inspired by Making it Lovely’s list of 30 things before 30 list, and thought it was actually a great way to look back on your year and feel accomplished… that is, if you accomplish something! ha!  It could certainly turn the other way, but I’m determined not to take these lists too seriously and make sure my family and my life are put before my list.  You know?!

Here it goes (or at least the ones I’m willing to share on the interweb!)

1 – Obviously, lose 20 lbs.  (and seriously, this is the most necessary and hardest goal on my list!)

2 -Paint the wall in LVRM behind the bookcases that I don’t want to move.

3 – Read my book list

4 – Finish this granny square blanket already!

5 – Get new doorknobs

6 – Organize my linens and laundry room (I have already done the linens side of this, now on to the laundry side of the room!)

7 – Actually decorate my office nook shelves and paint them

8 – Get a hair-do

9 – Learn to do make-up (not joking.)

10 – Get glasses (appointment has been made!)

11 – Get all my art framed properly

12 – Teach my dog some agility tricks

13 – Jazz up the master suite with some new bedding/lighting/side tables (Like this minus the poster bed.)

14 – Install wood floors!!!

15 – Redo the bathroom

16 – Grow grass in the backyard

17 – Get or make some dang throw pillows for the couch

18  – Re-finish the dining room table (liking this style – found here.)

19 – Try a fish recipe (maybe Tilapia?)

20 – Get a good family photo

21 – Sew myself a skirt (will do after I lose a few lbs.  you know, to conserve fabric.)

22 – Organize my computer photos and files (they are a big hot mess)

23 – Go on more dressy dates with the hubs of my youth

24 – Be able to do the Tracy Anderson Mat DVD all the way through (I’m just gonna say that is one wicked hard workout!)

25 – Take each of my boys to dinner and a movie.

What about you?  Any perpetual resolutions?  Any new ones?

Happy New Year everyone!

7 Responses to “New Years’ Resolutions”

  1. jennifer January 11, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    1. blog revamp (in the works)
    2. some house updating
    3. eat healthier
    4. stop drinking those stinkin’ soft drinks
    5. read the Bible through
    5. cook …really cook, more often
    6. keep my laundry room clean (hard to do)
    7. hang the rest of the new doors (hubby to do)
    8. write more often
    9. get an allergy test
    10. clean out the turtle’s aquarium

    love to you and yours

  2. jen carlson January 12, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    hi bethany!

    somehow i came across your blog, and love to check in now and then. :) just wanted to say that i’m with you on the tracy anderson mat workout. ;) i do it multiple times and week now, but i couldn’t make it through at first either…especially her arm section! oh my word, she’s insane! but, i LOVE her workouts, and so i’ll encourage you to keep going with them. when you’re feeling daring, try her dance cardio for beginners. it’s a terribly-edited video, but the workout is, um, kick-butt! :) again, she’s insane.

    greetings to you and your hubby. thank you for your jolly posts on life in Christ, and all your home-inspirations. you have such a beautiful family!

    cheers,
    jen

    • Bethany January 13, 2011 at 10:46 am #

      Hey Jen! Good to hear from you! I’m glad to find a fellow Tracy Anderson fan… she is insane, and I think that’s why I am determined to be able to do it! I will have to try the dance cardio too!
      Cheers- Bethany

  3. Bobbinoggin January 15, 2011 at 8:23 pm #

    woah! your resolutions/new year’s goals list made me dizzy! I think you should do a blog post for every goal you accomplish from your list. I look forward to seeing it!

    And by the by, I absolutely love those door knobs.

  4. Kristen January 16, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    WOW– way to go Bethbo–setting all those goals! I look forward to seeing pics. of all your projects! :) (now… I’ll go make my list…you’ve inspired me!)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Procrastination « Clothed in Scarlet - March 16, 2011

    […] photos and hit publish.  Either way, I’m just going to start somewhere.  How about that CRAAZY resolution list I made?  Let’s start […]

  2. Too many projects at once « Clothed in Scarlet - August 18, 2011

    […] that problem?  I’m getting very close to my birthday which means I ought to be focusing on my resolution list of things to do before I’m 27.  Which I kind of am, but kind of not […]

Leave a Reply

