Home Tour Continued…

25 Oct

I’m back with more of my humble abode to show you.  I’m going to share snippets, rather than a real large room view because it’s not finished.  Parts are close, but no cigar.

I picked up this yellow striped chair at a yard sale for $9, and I have some nice linen colored fabric to recover it in.  It has a really cool herringbone-ish texture to it.  I might even finish it off with some nail-heads.  I heart nail-head trim.

The ottoman was (brace yourself) a dumpster dive.  Full-on, nasty, out of the dumpster, D.I.V.E.  Lucky for all, I recovered it with this soft robins egg blue fabric from my stash that is indoor/outdoor (read: toddler proof!!).  Maybe that will make another adventures in dumpster diving post?  I have already finished the bottom with some gorgeous trim so ignore the un-finished nature of it all!  Full before and after shots of that bad-boy to come soon!

The sheepskin is from IKEA, and I love it.  This ottoman is the perfect size for Lily, or the boys to curl up on, and the hubs loves being able to drag it over to the couch to recline onto something cozy at night.  AND it was free!  (I bought the fabric so long ago it makes it free in my book!)  Win.Win.Win.

The view of my couch is nothing to write home about.  I desperately need throw pillows.  I haven’t found what I want and I haven’t gotten around to making anything yet… so it’s meh.

The coffee table needs more work.  It’s a Drexel, and it’s looking much better now than when we pulled that bad boy out of the garbage.  (It’s ridiculous isn’t it?  I live in a college town and these kids need to figure out craigslist already!)

I hope to spruce up the buffet and either relocate it or sell it and make a console table to replace it.  Something skinnier, a little lighter and more modern for back there behind the couch.

Here’s my shelf wall next to our newly widened doorway.  It too was free, not out of a dumpster, but off of craigslist and I’m really happy to have a place to display things I love.

You can see the transformation of that shelf right here.

Lastly, I want a large rug to really ground the whole room and “attach” all the pieces of furniture together.  I’m on the hunt for a smoking deal on an 8′ x 10′ that has the right colors going on.

I know that sounds like a huge list of “I wants” and I don’t want to come across sounding like the person who has so much but can only see the rug they are missing… you know?  So!  For the record, blog readers who know me and to those who don’t, I really am grateful for all I have!  I love my leather couch that I can (daily) spray with cleaner and wipe down!  I love that I have so much art, and cool lamps, and pillow forms for my soon to be throw pillows.  Most of all, I hope it does come across that I love my house and I’m uber-thankful I get to call it *home*  After all… I blog about it plenty!  :)

With that said…. here’s one of my favorite parts of my living room.

My grandparents’ wedding picture.  I have had this in my living room at the last three homes we have lived in, and it’s always my favorite part.  They’re no longer with us and I guess I just love getting to see my Mamoo and Dadoo (awesome names, right?).

I like my living room, I see where it’s going, I have a shopping list of what it needs and a work list of what needs to be done, and honestly it might not get done for another year (or two).  However, the finale is visible to me, so it’s a nice place to hang out.

I’ll fully reveal my other favorite part of this room soon.  But here’s a sneak-peak!  It’s my grandma’s art all framed up in the oval frames I painted.

And here’s the newly widened doorway, showing you a glimpse of the polished, and a glimpse of the ruffage.  Floors are a comin’ soon though!

Not finished yet… almost, but no cigar!

5 Responses to “Home Tour Continued…”

  1. Corinne Reagan October 25, 2010 at 10:53 am #

    Hi Bethany!

    Love this house – you’ve done an incredible job with it!

    What sort of colors might you want to have going on in your 8×10 rug? I have a 100% wool one from World Market I’m going to sell soon. It dwells primarily in the rust red/orange and medium brown category (great quality but doesn’t work for my scheme anymore). If this interests you, I can make you a smokin’ deal. :)

    Corinne

    • Bethany October 25, 2010 at 11:17 am #

      Hey Corinne!
      Glad you like my living room :) I am interested in looking at your rug, although reds and rusts are not what I had in mind, medium brown is my thing and I really do want something to keep our feet warm this winter! Would you be able to e-mail me a photo? bethbohicks at yahoo dot com! Thanks!!

  2. Dumpster Aficionado October 25, 2010 at 11:43 pm #

    Kudos for your good freegan taste. That ottoman? Incredible. It’s amazing what people throw out sometimes…

  3. Kristen October 26, 2010 at 7:39 pm #

    WOW!!! You are so talented! I cannot believe the transformation! I love the dumpster dive find! I just hope the lady who dumped it sees what you have done with it! :)

  4. Kim Swait November 11, 2010 at 7:51 am #

    When you recover your chair you should post a step by step for us. I have taken on much in home decorating but I am afraid to try reupholstering.

Leave a Reply

