Updating the Bathroom

30 Sep

So I’ve posted on this before, but in the spirit of showing you my house, I’m posting it again and in more detail.

Right after we moved in my mom and her hubbby gave us a visit and helped us spiff up the bathroom.

Here are the before shots:

In short, it all needed to go.  Dated laminate, tan toilet, and cheap hotel towel bars are not my style.  Or anyone else’s that I know of.

What about the mauve paint?

And why is the shower wall… what exactly is going on with the plastic shower-wall all over?!

We didn’t have the money to update everything, so we really did high impact, inexpensive updates.  Which leaves us with the big updates yet to come (read – new toilet, sink, tub and TILE!!)

Here’s the after:

Beadboard was installed over the weird shower half-wall, vanity was painted white, walls a minty-teal, towels are Martha Stewart (found at Macy’s last summer and they matched perfectly to the paint!), the cheap hotel hardware was swapped out for something classic, but retro.  The house is as old as the hills, so I figure I’m at liberty to go a little retro!

Cute, right?

The flooring we used had been left in the garage and we just slapped it down.  However, it is not recommended for “moist” areas, and we are more than just “moist” (three boys in a tub = flood city, USA) so these floors have totally given out on us.  Not to fear, we’re looking to install tile when we replace all the major items.  More on that to come!

Fun tidbit: we picked a paint color that was very similar to a color this bathroom had previously been painted!

And my Grandma’s art always seems to fit right in.  This particular painting was in my room all through high-school and could look perfect in every room in my house!  It’s definitely a fave.

I guess we’ll eventually get around to switching the electrical to white plates instead of cream.  I’ve gotten quite used to this “look” though!

If you’d like to read the first post about our bathroom re-do, you can find it here.  More details on the next phase of the bathroom update to follow!

Cheers!

One Response to “Updating the Bathroom”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bathroom Inspiration « Clothed in Scarlet - October 4, 2010

    […] Oct I just showed you our one and only bathroom here at the Hicks Casa, and now I thought it might be fun to show you some of my internet finds […]

Leave a Reply

