I can see clearly now the walls are gone!

27 Sep

I just took you on my home tour from last August when we purchased this place, and now I’m back to show you our most recent progress.

Previously our living spaces were three distinct rooms (living room, den/nook, and kitchen/dining) all connected by small doorways.

We knew right away that we needed to bust down some walls to make it a lot more functional for our family.

Let me tell you – our house just got 100 times brighter and about 75 times bigger!  We widened our normal sized doorway between our living room and our den to a 4 foot opening.  It’s glorious!  It lets a lot more light into the room too.

Tiny doorway before shot:

During construction, we lived in a bubble:

And the glorious after shot:

Thanks Larry for helping take on the project with us!

We had also removed the wall between our kitchen/dining area and the den about 3 months ago.

Before (pardon the move-in day picture!):

During:

Crazy wood wall and crazier wall paper!

Lead paint, anyone?  And what in the world was that fake duct-work on the far right?

After!!

And we are almost done with the drywall on the fridge-side of the opening.  It previously had wood paneling but now was one random piece of paneling, so we drywalled right on over that stuff!

The ceilings still need to be re-done and obviously the floors, but it’s on its way!  Now the entire layout is open rather than 3 separate living spaces.

Before:

After:

I gotta say, as messy as fixing up the house is, I love it.  It’s such a thrill!  But now you know why I haven’t had you over for dinner!  Soon we will be having parties though, and that makes it worth the trouble.

Anyone else addicted to house projects like me?  I know I’m not the only one because I read their blogs! I’m addicted, I tell you!

5 Responses to “I can see clearly now the walls are gone!”

  1. avery September 28, 2010 at 6:42 pm #

    so wish i could be at your new house parties!

    • Bethany September 28, 2010 at 7:26 pm #

      get your buns up here then! it’s not a party without bravery!

  2. elissa dodson September 29, 2010 at 11:35 am #

    Knocking the wall down between our kitchen and dining room is still on our to do list. Your work has inspired me, I’m ready to get started asap! Your house looks great. :)

    • Bethany October 4, 2010 at 8:00 am #

      Elissa – I think it’s really funny that you say that our house looks great… because it doesn’t. But clearly you are fixing up your own and have trained yourself to look at potential!! haha. You should definitely bust out the wall, for the non-supporting variety, it’s really pretty easy, I just highly recommend “the bubble.” Cheers!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Home Tour Continued… « Clothed in Scarlet - October 25, 2010

    […] here’s the newly widened doorway, showing you a glimpse of the polished, and a glimpse of the ruffage.  Floors are a comin’ […]

Leave a Reply

