Adventures in Dumpster Diving: take two

27 Aug

While this here shelf may not be a bona-fide “dumpster dive,” it was free off of Craigslist, so I figure it still qualifies.  And in case you missed out on the fun last time, you can read the first adventure in dumpster diving right here.

This is a solid wood, wonkily designed, stained dark brown, shelf.  It’s not deep enough to act as a bookshelf, and it came with a gazillion nails hammered into it all over the place.  But it was big and wood, and it was free.  I’ll take it!

Here is the only real “before” shot I could find.  It resided in my boy’s room for a while.

I pretty quickly removed most of the nails and filled in the large holes and then sanded it down.  It took much longer to get around to painting it.

Steps:

1.  Remove unwanted wood and nails

2.  Fill in all holes with either wood filler or spackle

3.  Caulk all gaps where one piece of wood meets the another (this helps to make it look less home-made, and more polished)

4.  Sand like there’s no tomorrow

5.  Prime with an oil based primer (so the previous stain won’t bleed through), or you can re-stain it now if you prefer

6.  Paint with two thin and even layers of off the shelf white semi-gloss paint (I use Benjamin Moore)

7.  Decorate to your liking!  Woo-hoo!

Here’s my  finished shelf…

I have a cool B&W photograph of our street post I need to go get printed to put in the frame on the top shelf.

The black frame holds one of my maternal Grandma’s teeny prints called “Conversation.”  The tiny silver frame to the right of it has an old picture of my paternal Grandma with my dad as a baby.  It’s probably my favorite part of this shelf.

There you have it!  A dumpster dive, ugly, weird shelf gussied up and looking much fresher!

What do you think?  Do you have any pieces of furniture that need just a little bit of spiffing up?  Feel free to link your projects in the comments!

Have a great weekend!

2 Responses to “Adventures in Dumpster Diving: take two”

  1. Bobbinoggin August 28, 2010 at 10:27 pm #

    VERY nice! I’m impressed!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Home Tour Continued… « Clothed in Scarlet - October 25, 2010

    […] You can see the transformation of that shelf right here. […]

Leave a Reply

