Paint it Up! Vintage Oval Frames

6 Aug

I have been collecting oval frames for quite some time now.  I think about four years to be precise!  Picking them up at garage sales, thrift and antique stores, I have known that someday I would have a wall of oval frames.  I thought I would put a black and white old photo of all of our grandparents from their younger years, possibly a wedding photo in them.  However, I haven’t gathered all of the photos, and I did get some of my uber-talented grandmother’s art, so I finally painted these bad boys.

Armed with fizzy water, a sun chip, and a bit of wood glue, I began.

First I sanded and thoroughly wiped clean. Then I fixed a damaged frame with some wood glue and let dry.  Now you’re ready to prime them.  That’s not always necessary though, these wood frames might have been stained, so I went ahead and primed to be safe.  Finally, I painted 2 thin layers of off the shelve Benjamin Moore pure white semi-gloss paint.

Hot tip for this super easy-peasy project is to make sure you lift and move the frame after each coat of paint.

Otherwise, the paper (or whatever is your protective layer underneath) will dry and stick to your frame and when you lift it up it will peel your fresh paint off.  Just move it right away and touch up any finger prints you made later!

The 100% finished shot will come soon…

I have placed almost all the art and after much contemplating, the frames have been placed on the wall.  More shots will come when it’s officially finished.  I guess you could say this is a teaser?  Hopefully the finale will have been worth the wait!

Cheers!

One Response to “Paint it Up! Vintage Oval Frames”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Home Tour Continued… « Clothed in Scarlet - October 25, 2010

    […] I’ll fully reveal my other favorite part of this room soon.  But here’s a sneak-peak!  It’s my grandma’s art all framed up in the oval frames I painted. […]

Leave a Reply

