Thrifting Finds!

30 Jul

Yesterday I scored these Russian stacking dolls, or matryoshka dolls at Salvation Army.

While I’m not in love with these dolls, I grew up with them, and felt sad seeing them all unwanted on a thrift store shelf.  I would kill my mom if she ever gave away our stacking dolls!  (Hear that mom?!  Don’t even think about it!)  Either way, if I ever have a little girl she can love on these dolls and in the meantime I’ll just try to protect the babushkas from the three wild boys and their hound.  A difficult job, indeed!

While in Spokane one day I found two of these cool vases, and I found the third one at the Salvation Army yesterday with Babushka up above.  I really like them.  However, as I was holding them ready to purchase my husband asked me,

“Are you sure you want to attach yourself to these?  I mean… take a good look at them.”

Me – “Uh, ya!  They’re awesome!  You don’t like them?”

Him- “Well, I wanted to make sure you aren’t just liking them in this store.”

I appreciate him wanting me to whip out my editing eyes, but seriously… what’s not to like about $1 for some cute white vases?!

Here is my favorite.  I found this old Winged Wheel railroad lantern at an antique store about a month ago and have loved it everyday.  It says it was made in Japan, and from what I gathered online, was made probably made between 1950-1970.

It hasn’t found the perfect place in my house yet, but for now it looks pretty on my shelf near my sewing stuff and shrine to Coco Chanel.  Maybe it’ll make its way out to our porch eventually.  It’s so cute and perfect!

Spill the beans!  What do you always look out for at yard sales?  Are you a books and furniture type of person?  Maybe more of an art and antiques person?

We’re in the heat of yard sale season, so happy hunting tomorrow!

Cheers!

4 Responses to “Thrifting Finds!”

  1. Bobbinoggin July 30, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    LOVE the lantern! Nice find!

  2. Larson July 30, 2010 at 10:55 am #

    Where’s my sweet truck-stop travel mug, Hicks!?

  3. Tiffany Wood July 31, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

    I love that lantern! Very cool. I tend towards art wherever I am. My latest purchase of
    an original oil by Marlin Linville for $10 is my happiest thrifting moment ever.

  4. Kristen August 2, 2010 at 8:34 am #

    I love the candle holders as well- that’s great you found the other one! :) BUT, my favorite is the lantern. Way cute. I have struggled lately finding anything worth buying at garage sells or the thrift store, HOWEVER, last year I got a BRAND NEW, still in the box Sentsy warmer for 2 dollars. This was a big deal for me, because they are like $20 brand new. The electic cord had been cut- opps- but I just bought a dollar extension cord and Andrew spliced it for me- works great now! :) yahoo for deals!

Leave a Reply

