Work-in-Progress: Granny-Square Blanket

29 Jul

I’ve been working on this since the spring.  I’ve been taking a summer hiatus from it so I can work on some sweaters (seen here), but seriously, who wants to crochet under a blanket during the summer?!  I far prefer to be working on hot sweaters.  jk.

The yarn is just good ‘ol Cotton-Ease and I’m making it throw blanket size for any and all couch snuggling this winter.

Unlike the awesome Babette (which I wrote about here) that features many sizes, I did all of them the same size in a more traditional, granny-square afghan fashion.  I like to think the colors and the style of the square keep it a bit more modern, you can be the judge of that though!

Here is the pattern I used for the squares, alternate colors however you’d like.

Foundation Ring: Ch 4 and join with sl st to form a ring.

Round 1: Ch 5 (counts as 1 dc, ch 2), [3 dc into ring, ch 2] 3 times, 2 dc into ring, join with sl st in 3rd of ch 5.

Round 2: Sl st into ch 2 space, ch 7 (counts as 1 dc, ch 4), * 2 dc into same ch 2 space, 1 dc into each dc across side of the square ** 2 dc into nest ch 2 space, ch 4; repeat from the * twice, and then from * to **.  1 dc into last ch 2 space, join with sl st to the 3rd of ch 7.  (the ch 4 makes the four corners)

Round 3: Ch 7 (counts as 1 dc,  ch 4) *2 dc into same ch 4 space, 1 dc into each dc across side of square, ** 2 dc into next ch 4 space, ch 4; repeat from the * twice and from the * to ** again, 1 dc into last ch 4 space, join with sl st to 3rd of ch 7.

Round 4: Basically repeat round 3, but you will have more stitches along the side of the square to dc into.

You can do this pattern around and around to make as big of a square as you’d like!

If you’d like to crochet your squares together as you go (called join as you go), check this out.  I haven’t been doing this exactly, but I have been joining them as I go by slip stitching the squares together with the same yarn as the final row.  It’s worked pretty well for me, so I haven’t bothered to figure out this technique, but I bet it would be handy in doing hex-blankets or blankets with smaller squares!

Please share (and link!) your endless afghan projects!  Or you can check out the flickr group which has some gems on it!

Cheers!

8 Responses to “Work-in-Progress: Granny-Square Blanket”

  1. Bobbinoggin July 29, 2010 at 10:21 am #

    Very pretty! I love the colors you chose.

  2. jennifer July 29, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

    it’s beautiful….great work….you can move here and teach my Kate in a few years!

    • TERRIE March 23, 2013 at 11:32 am #

      WHAT ARE THE COLORS YOU USED?

  3. Jennifer M January 22, 2013 at 6:30 am #

    This looks fab! I want to make this! How much yarn did you use?

  4. Brittany June 23, 2013 at 3:48 pm #

    I have a couple questions for you! What size crochet hook did you use, and how did you change colours? I’m worried that my yarn is going to come loose the way I did it, and my blanket will fall apart on me! Any help would be appreciated. Love the design, and can’t wait until I figure out all the little things and can make my own. Thanks :)

    • Bethany June 23, 2013 at 8:13 pm #

      Hi Brittany – I think I used a G hook, but it has been a long time! To change colors, I would fasten off one and then pull the new color through the loop starting a new round. I would crochet over the ends as I went so there weren’t any ends to weave in. However, this blanket has fallen apart a bit… I am very rough on it, and wash it frequently, but if I made it again and knew it was going to be used a ton, I would recommend a smaller hook (for a tighter, less loopy blanket), and actually weaving in the ends rather than crocheting over them as you go. Be sure to check out Attic 24’s blog as she makes the most beautiful afghans and has much more expertise than I do!! Good luck!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Crocheted Babette Blanket « Clothed in Scarlet - August 3, 2010

    […] My review of the books I ordered to learn how to make this bad-boy can be found here. My baby blanket sized babette can be seen here and here, and my latest granny square blanket can be seen here. […]

  2. Too many projects at once « Clothed in Scarlet - August 18, 2011

    […] wait – I haven’t finished this one and #4 on my […]

Leave a Reply

