Quick Fix! Paint that ugly trellis already!

23 Jul

Do you ever have those things that stare you in the face and annoy the life out of you, and yet you still don’t do anything about it?  (Dead bug in your light fixture anyone?)  Well the million trellis’ around here have been that issue for me.  Such an annoyance that I went ahead and threw two of the four away!  (Not recommended if your rose bushes are still alive and well!  They are going nuts with nothing to hold on to – oh well!)

Finally, I convinced myself to take action even though I didn’t “have time.”  One evening, about 15 minutes before I had to put my boys down I fixed those eye-sores (front and back on both of them) and even took pictures to boot!  All that to say this really was a QUICK FIX!  No need to procrastinate any longer!

In case you were wondering… no, I did not scrape paint and sand it down… no time!  I also have reason to believe I’ll be pulling them down by the end of the year, so really no need to scrape and sand anyhow.

Here’s the rough before shot:

TA-DA!!

What quick fixes are lingering for you?  I know you all have them!  What are they?  Do you feel inspired to fix yours in the next fifteen minutes too? jk.  Have a fun weekend!

Cheers!

4 Responses to “Quick Fix! Paint that ugly trellis already!”

  1. jennifer kindle July 23, 2010 at 9:13 am #

    my quick fixes take more than 15 minutes but I have scraped the popcorn texture off of the ceiling in most of our house…yes…it’s still no all retextured but I would much rather look at it unfinished that that nasty, dust-collecting, spider web invested popcorn.

  2. Bobbinoggin July 23, 2010 at 5:20 pm #

    my two bookcases in the dining room—I intend to paint them (white with sea green/blue on the inside back panel). and some items that are waiting to be spray painted.

  3. Bethany July 26, 2010 at 8:43 am #

    Jennifer- I had GREASY popcorn ceilings in one of my apartment’s ceilings a couple years back… keep up the good work! That’s totally worth it! Our ceilings are also in-limbo right now, but we have to update electrical once we rip the ceilings out, so it’s getting all very complicated!
    Melissa- I love the idea of your bookcases!! I also just painted one white (which I’ll be blogging about sooner or later!) and spray paint is pretty much my best friend. :)
    So fun!

  4. Larson July 26, 2010 at 2:00 pm #

    I’m pretty sure our friend got that popcorn off his ceilings by spraying it with water and then scraping. Not feasible if you’ve got carpet, but I’m pretty sure that when they did that, it came off really easily.

Leave a Reply

