from tea towels to throw pillow…

15 Feb

i think my mother-in-law has been patiently waiting for me to make this pillow from some tea towels she bought me to go with these pictures in my family room. it took me some time to figure out how to create a pillow as large as i wanted, and NOT have it look like it was shouting, “hi! i used to be two tea towels, but the lady of the house thought i was pretty enough to be a pillow, so here i am!”

here’s what i came up with….

dscf1141.jpg

dscf1142.jpg

… do you like?

6 Responses to “from tea towels to throw pillow…”

  1. Liz February 19, 2008 at 12:15 pm #

    Ooh! I like!

  2. paula gibbs February 20, 2008 at 8:48 am #

    Very, very nice – I have a Marimekko tea towel that I’ve been meaning to do this to but struggled with the same “hey, I’m meant for the kitchen!” problem.

    These look like they were born to be pillows.

  3. Jennifer February 20, 2008 at 8:16 pm #

    They really do look like they were made to be pillows. The colors are awesome! You did a great job. I’m excited to see the next project.

  4. Alexis March 6, 2008 at 1:06 pm #

    Pretty pillows Bethany!

  5. mackenzie March 18, 2008 at 10:49 am #

    Super cute Bethany! Is the fruit design an appliqué or is it all part of the fabric?

  6. Alison August 17, 2009 at 7:29 am #

    Lovely looking pillow, nicely proportioned at the edges.

Leave a Reply

