sprucing up the homestead

18 Apr

i can’t resist buying a beautiful ranunculus when i see one, and i potted this one about a week ago.

dscf2469.jpg

in the spirit of spring, i also picked up some strawberry plants and some type of lily bulbs which i also planted.

dscf2471.jpg

these beautiful daffodils in our front planters opened up while we were in texas for easter. it was so nice to come home to such a cheery home!

dscf2477.jpg

on a non-flower related note, today i decided it was time to spruce up the kitchen cabinet knobs. i have been looking at buying new ones, but because i don’t have a clear direction as to how i am going to decorate my kitchen, i thought a little silver spray-paint (aka. my best friend) was in order. here are some before (worn down brassy-gold color), and after shots.

dscf2472.jpg dscf2476.jpg

6 Responses to “sprucing up the homestead”

  1. jupiterbuttons April 19, 2007 at 8:31 am #

    Where did you get the ranunculus? It’s one of my favorite flowers…

    The nobs look great – my kitchen really needs new ones, but I don’t want to shell out the cash for a rental. Does the silver paint hold up to daily use?

  2. bethany April 19, 2007 at 12:44 pm #

    The ranunculus was actually from wal-mart in the outside tent… I love them too, I had a lot in my wedding flowers! Not too sure about how the spray-painted knobs will hold up… so far, so good (2 days & counting). I’ll let you know! I figure by the time these knobs are officially garbage I should be ready to invest in some new ones… and if not, I’ll spray them again! :) haha

  3. Liz April 23, 2007 at 1:48 pm #

    Love the flowers…I might run down to Wal-Mart myself…

  4. Robbie April 25, 2007 at 4:00 pm #

    Nice flowers. I just got some strawberry plants too. How do I keep the squirls from trying to eat the fruit though?

  5. bethany April 26, 2007 at 9:51 am #

    robbie- first off, i’m no gardener, so i don’t know about those squirrels… and i haven’t encountered that problem yet (they have no fruit). you’re funny though for asking… :) haha

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. thrifting goodies « clothed in scarlet - July 30, 2007

    […] to think of how to use it! i’m lovin’ the retro owl trivets, but want to spray-paint (aka. my best friend) them bright yellow, green, and aqua to match my newly (but not completely) spruced up kitchen. […]

Leave a Reply

